Wine Cellar Software, Wine Inventory Tags, Cellar Accessories    
Wine Database   Wine Cellar   Wine Cellar Management   Wine Collection   Wine Tasting Notes   Wine Inventory   Wine Ratings   Iphone Cellar Management   Smartphone Wine Inventory   Smartphone Wine Rack Display   Drink Better Wine   Home Wine Collection

Australian Wine Regions

The Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation's (AWBC) Geographical Indications Committee, established in 1993, is working with the industry to clearly define the winegrape growing regions of Australia. To implement commitments under the EC/Australia Wine Agreement, a Register of Protected Names has also been established to provide protection for the names and boundaries of Australian and EC geographical indications, to register traditional expressions for wine, as well as the winegrape varieties to be used in the manufacture of wine in Australia.

As of May 1998, the following is a list of the Australian Geographical Indications that have been determined and entered into part (a) of the Australian Register of Protected Names by the Geographic Indications Comittee of the Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation. Note that Geographic Indication relates to where the grape is grown, and not where the wine is made.

South Eastern Australia


  • Big Rivers
    • Murray Darling
    • Swan Hill
  • Central Ranges
    • Orange
  • Hunter Valley
    • Hunter
      • Broke Fordwich
  • Northern Rivers
  • Northern Slopes
  • South Coast
  • Southern New South Wales
    • Hilltops
    • Canberra District
  • Western Plains


  • Central Victoria
  • Gippsland
  • North East Victoria
    • Rutherglen
  • North West Victoria
    • Murray Darling
    • Swan Hill
  • Port Phillip
    • Geelong
    • Yarra Valley
    • Mornington Peninsula
  • Western Victoria
    • Grampians


  • Adelaide (Super Zone, above Mount Lofty Ranges, Fleurieu and Barossa)
  • Mount Lofty Ranges
    • Adelaide Hills
  • Fleurieu
    • McLaren Vale
  • Limestone Coast
    • Mount Benson
  • The Peninsulas
  • Lower Murray
  • Far North
  • Barossa
    • Barossa Valley
    • Eden Valley


  • Eastern Plains, Inland and North of Western Australia
  • West Australian South East Coastal
  • South West Australia
    • Margaret River
    • Great Southern
      • Mount Barker
  • Central Western Australia
  • Greater Perth


I. The regions "Murray Darling" and "Swan Hill" are contained within the zones of "Big Rivers" (145W) and "North West Victoria" (VIC), whilst all other regions are contained within single zones.
2. The zone "South Eastern Australia" incorporates the whole of the states of New South Wales, Victoria and Tasmania and part only of the states of Queensland and South Australia.

You will note that many of Australia's traditional wine regions are not yet entered into the Register of Protected Names. In some instances the Geographical Indications Committee is awaiting receipt of an application whilst in others the application is being processed.

* Acknowledgment and thanks is given to the Registrar of Protected Names for the above information.

Site Map | Contact Us | Buy Now | Wine Information Uncork - Wine Cellar Inventory Management Privacy Policy | ©1996-2020 Uncork Pty Ltd